Tags

, , , , ,

Textualities 2016 was the culmination of weeks of stress, overdue library books, late nights and excess caffeine consumption but proved to be worth it as it showcased the ideas of some of the brightest young academics UCC has to offer. With presentations ranging from silenced women in Shakespeare to the influence of the Japanese anime Akira on American culture, the day offered a diverse range of topics with everyone present throwing themselves whole-heartedly in the discussion. At first I was sceptical about the concept of Pecha Kucha presentations and feared presenting in front of my peers. The supportive, nurturing and intellectually stimulating environment Textualities 2016 offered put these fears to rest. This made it a very enjoyable day and one I would happily repeat. It was so successful that we even managed to get #textualities16 trending on Twitter!

1. Post conference group photo of those who presented at Textualities 2016 (Photo by Maureen O’Conner @IrishEcocritic)

My presentation was based on my current research into the interplay between oral performance and the textual qualities of Old English literature. As anyone who had seen my earlier attempts to present on this topic in the run up to the conference would agree, I am not the most comfortable presenting my own work in front of others. Textualites 2016 gave me an opportunity to overcome this fear of mine and build my confidence; something that will be invaluable in my future hopes of pursuing a PhD.

2. Photo of me during my presentation discussing Cynewulf’s ‘Fates of the Apostles’ (Photo by Ellen Dineen @ellandineen)

As my presentation was in the latter part of the day, my nerves were not helped by the high standards set by my fellow MA students. However, the response I received after my presentation from the crowd and through twitter was very encouraging as I embark on turning this oral performance into text when writing my thesis over the summer.

The discussion after my presentation revolving around how one would perform Cynewulf’s runic inscriptions has been on my mind since the event. Musical cues to represent these symbols were discussed but since then I have been considering the use of the performance’s environment to evoke these symbols on a sensory level. The use of a fire or smells (the burning of incense) could be used to present these symbols to an audience. This mini-conference has left me with a lot to think about in my own research.

3. A reconstruction of the Anglo-Saxon hall in which works of Cynewulf may have been performed (photo by http://www.brillmusica.com)


Illustrations

  1. O’Connor, Maureen. Textualities 2016 Group Photo. 2016. University College Cork, Cork City. Twitter. JPEG. Web. 9 Mar. 2016.
  2. Dineen, Ellen. Squad on Point. 2016. University College Cork, Cork City. Twitter. JPEG. Web. 9 Mar. 2016.
  3. Yorkshire Images. Hall – Anglo Saxon Village. 2014. West Stow Anglo Saxon Village, Yorkshire. Brillmusica.com. JPEG. Web. 9 Mar. 2016.